top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison Wolfe

Anti-TBR TAG

Hello everyone and welcome or welcome back to my blog! Today I am bringing you a tag. This tag was just recently created by Booktuber Nicole & Her Books. This tag is centered around all the books that you do NOT want to read and was inspired by anti-hauls in the beauty community. Let me know down below which popular books you are just not interested in reading!

1. A popular book EVERYONE loves that you have no interest in reading?







Nevernight by Jay Kristoff or really anything by him. I did read the 1st chapter in this book and I just did not like anything about it and it was just not for me. I didn't like the scenes that I read and I just didn't like the way the MC was written. I have heard that this book has flowerly and weirdly metaphorical writing and I also dislike that in books.




2. A classic book (or author) you don’t have any interest in reading?


This is an easy one, the Doctor Dolittle books by Hugh Lofting. This is another one I started and stopped close to the beginning. Like many people, I watched the Eddie Murphy movies when I was a kid. I got this book from the library to read to my 5-year-old (at the time) when I realized all the racism in the book. I cannot believe it was even in the children’s section with the language used in this book. I am not against separating dead authors from their work but I just can’t do it when the racism/sexism/ableism is IN the books. I don't understand authors who try to show how much animals matter but don't have any regards for other human beings.



3. An author or problematic author whose books you have no interest in reading?







Mark Lawrence. I know he wrote that assassin nuns series and a lot of people love it. However, I have heard some of the things that he has said and done involving Victoria/VE Schwab and I have no interest in supporting terrible authors. I haven’t really read anything with assassin MCs and I will be looking elsewhere if I ever want to.





4. An author you have read a couple of books from & have decided their books are not for you?


The best answer for this is Cassandra Clare. I have so many issues with her books. If you would like to see them, I have reviews on my Goodreads linked at the right top of the page of the last four books in the Mortal Instruments series. If you love this series, I would not recommend looking those up. I could talk all day about all the problems I have with this series and Cassandra Clare.


Another author would be Holly Black. When I was a kid, I read the Spiderwick Chronicles by her. I don’t believe I ever finished them but I did like them. As an adult, I have attempted reading The Coldest Girl in Cold Town and I tried Cruel Prince this year and both were DNFs for me. I might try something by her again down the line but it won’t be for a while. These two just so happen to have a series together as well, which is the picture I have chosen.

5. A genre you have no interest in OR a genre you tried to get into & couldn’t?

I have two genres that I know I will never love. The first one is sci-fi. When I say sci-fi, I mean the kind set in space, on a spaceship, wars in space or even robots. I almost attempted reading Leviathin Wakes but I talked myself out of it. I personally struggle liking movies set in space so I can’t imagine I would love it in books.

The second genre is romance. I am not saying I always dislike romance but most of the time, I do. I have read more romance books this year than usual and I liked about half of them. I think I need some intrigue in a book and romance is just not intriguing because you know the ending. I think my dislike of romance is why I love middle grade. Middle grade rarely has romance and I love that about it.

Now that I think about it, I don't favor Historical Fiction unless it has another element to it. For instance, The Diviners by Libba Bray is historical but also has paranormal elements and a bit of magic. Silence of Bones by June Hur is a historical fiction but, it is set in Korea and is a mystery novel.

6. A book you have bought but will never read?


I have a book called Sunnyside by Glen David Gold that I am pretty sure I will never read. It is about Charlie Chaplin and I got it from a dollar store. I want to keep it but I have owned for, at the very least, five years and it is one of the books I have owned for the longest.

On my currently reading shelf on Goodreads, I have this Sherlock Holmes book. I recently found out it isn’t the entire Sherlock Holmes stories and I thought it was. I have tried reading this so many times. I am just not that into short stories and Sherlock Holmes is made up of short stories. I think I have read around 4 or 5 of the stories in that book. I know this book is the one that I have owned the longest that I haven’t read.


7. A series you have no interest in reading OR a series you started & have DNF’d?





I am actually planning a post for later this month where I talk about all the series I will never finish. However, this year I have added one back to the list that I took off. I had recently added the anthology quartet named The Giver to this by Lois Lowry. I have read The Giver so many times, as most of us have, in my life and I never thought I would finish the series. In 2020, I decided to continue and I was so disappointed. Gathering Blue was just nowhere near as good as The Giver.




8. A new release you have no interest in?





Home Before Dark by Riley Sager. I read The Final Girls by him and I didn’t like it. I don’t understand the hype around him. I personally don’t like the way men write female characters sometimes. I didn’t like the loss of virginity scenes and how it was ‘painful’ for her after. Sex would never be portrayed this way if the character were a man. I didn’t like any of the characters and I am just not interested in reading anything else by him.

53 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page