top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison Wolfe

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Hello everyone and welcome or welcome back to my blog. I have been doing this now for almost a month so, I thought I should do a book tag. The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag was created by Booktuber TheBookArcher. I will link the original below! I am hoping that this will help everyone to get to know me better as a reader.

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn't like.

I can think of a lot of popular books and series that I didn’t like. One would be the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I have extensive reviews for most of the books on my Goodreads and they are full of spoilers. I hate when YA books portray these one-dimensional relationships that seem to be only based upon physical attractiveness. Another big miss for me is the incest thing she likes to add in. I could go on and on but I will spare everyone reading this.

I also did not like Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey Mcquiston. I have seen a few people who agree with me on that one but most people tend to love it. It had an interesting idea but I didn’t like the execution of it.

2. A Popular Book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

I just recently read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas. I wouldn’t say I LOVED it but I didn’t hate it. I do see why a lot of people could dislike the book but I don’t see why people hate them.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don't like.

I am just going to say the Shadow and Bone series by Leigh Bardugo. I think this is a pretty popular opinion. To me, it just didn’t make sense. If you know, you know.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Sci-fi. I have mentioned many times that I don’t read hard sci-fi. I challenged myself this year to try the genres I don’t tend to like and I do like some sci-fi but I don’t want to read books with aliens, set in space, in a spaceship, etc. This extends to movies. I am not even sure why I like Star Wars because I don’t love space movies. Another one is romance. It is really hard for me to love a romance book. I only liked 1 out of the 4 romance books I read this year.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Frodo from Lord of the Rings. I have only read the first two books but Frodo is the worst character in the whole series. I honestly disliked him even more in the movies. I am planning to read the hobbit this month and I just know Bilbo could never be as annoying as Frodo. I wish the main character was Sam, SMH.

6. A popular author that you can't seem to get into.

Neil Gaiman. I have now read three books by Neil Gaiman being Coraline, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and The Graveyard Book. I didn’t really love any of them. However, I still want to keep giving him a try. The next book I try will be American Gods. I am hoping to branch out from his middle grade and see if I like it more than what I have read previously.

7. A popular book trope that you're tired of seeing. (examples "lost princess", corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

The main character in a fantasy series being an orphan. I don’t like broken family tropes in general.

I really, really hate the evil step-parent trope or the step-parent who the MC just can’t get along with or is out to get them. I am a step-parent so that may have something to do with it. There are not many books/Tv shows/moves where there is a step-parent and they are not a villain.

I don’t care for the villain being the same through the entire series. Especially when the series is really long.

The main character disregarding the best friend character, who they have known basically their whole life, for a love interest they barely know.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Lightbringer by Brent Weeks for one. I have just heard that his writing is a bit sexist. Nevernight is another one. I read the first few chapters and it wasn’t for me. The Scythe series. To all the boys I loved before series. I have seen the movie for that one and I am just not that into romance.

9. The saying goes "The book is always better than the movie", but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

This is an easy one. The DUFF by Kody Keplinger. I saw this movie and thought it was so funny. I loved all the characters and the humor. I then read the book and I hated it. I honestly could not have been more disappointed. I am so glad I saw that movie first.

32 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page