top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison Wolfe

Books I didn't get to in 2020: Blogmas Day 6

Hello readers and happy holidays! Welcome or welcome back to Blogmas! Today I wanted to do a bit of a long post about all the books I added to my TBRs and didn’t get to from September to November. I managed to not read over 30 books on my TBRs when there were only three of them.

I have been thinking about not doing TBRs for 2021, because I am so bad at them. I think I might just limit myself to how many books I can add. Each month, I want to go back to this list and add a few to my TBRs in the future. I will link a few videos below of people who have done something similar to this, but not exactly the same.

I’m going to name the TBR post, show all the books I didn’t read from it, and tell you why I didn’t get to them. If you want to know more about any readathon, the hosts, or anything else, you can click the name of the respective TBR post, and it will take you to my original post. I don't know if I have ever mentioned it before, but I don't buy most of the books I read. I do buy around 50 books a year, but I get them all at once, and there are more than likely backlist titles. So, a lot of these are going to be books I couldn't get in time from Libby or books that my library ended up not having, even though I should have checked first.

Please fill out the form at the bottom of this post to be notified via email when I post, if you are enjoying Blogmas! You can also click the tag at the bottom of this post, or any Blogmas post, to see all my Blogmas posts this year. Also, comment down below and let me know what books I should get to first, as I have too many choices!


This was my first ever TBR, and, I think, my second post! This post has the most views out of all of them, probably because of the title. At this point, I didn't really know how to navigate this website properly. I love doing readathons every month, and I had 3 that were a month long, and my next two TBRs, which were a week long. I added 14 books to that TBR, and read 6 of them.


I wish I could have read this by now. It didn't come in on time from the library, so I didn't read it in September, or any other month. It will be going on my TBR for 2021, as I really want to get to it. This one follow Morrigan who is destined to die on her birthday, but is chosen by a man to go to this place called the Wundrous Society and has to complete these trials. If she can't complete them, she will have to go back home and face her previous fate.


I couldn't get this from my library, however it was on Scribd as an ebook. I don't really read ebooks. However, I do have a Kindle, and I did used to read ebooks on it. I used to buy so many ebooks on it that I had to give myself a monetary limit each month. It will be one of my unwritten goals in 2021 to read more ebooks, and I need to get Scribd back as well. This one was on the TBR because of the Whimsy Book Club, who hosted the Adventure Through Wonderland readathon.


I think this one was the book club book for Middle Grade Monthly. I always intend to read their monthly books, and then I don't. I find they are hard to get on Libby or Hoopla. Again, I just need to take advantage of the Kindle I have had for so many years, but don't use much anymore. I know this is a series and is a middle grade mystery series. One MC is a reporter, and the other is a ghost.


This one is the 3rd book in middle grade a series called The School for Good and Evil. The first book was a book club book for the Whimsy Book Club in August, I believe. I read the first two in the series, and then abruptly stopped. There are six total books in the series, and I just need to start picking them up again. This series follows two girls, Sophie and Agatha, who are kidnapped and taken to a fantasy world where they attend either the school for good or evil. This happens every year to two children and they don't get to choose which school they go to, it chooses them. It really challenges the stereotypes of fairy tales. For instance, Sophie is blonde, girly, and hopes to be whisked away. Agatha has black hair, is not considered beautiful, and is not a people person. However, Agatha ends up in the good school, and Sophie in the evil one. There are certain aspects of people that are always added to villains. Such as being ugly, not liking people, jealousy, being disfigured, etc. I just like the way stereotypes are turned on their head.


I didn't realize the audiobook that Libby has is an abridged version. However, I do own these books, I just can't get through the writing style. I love the unabridged audiobooks, I just need to eventually get to them, which I think Scribd has.


I also had Way of Kings by Sanderson on this TBR, and I went for that one first. It took me so long to read it, and I didn't expect it to. I am just not that motivated to read Martin's series because I don't know if it will ever actually end. I don't know how many books there are meant to be, or when the next one will be out. I just need the ending to be better than the show!



Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin

It is extra shameful this one managed to show up twice, but it was in the same month. I started Way of Kings the week of this month, and didn't expect to be reading it for almost a month.


This one was a book club book for 2 or 3 book clubs at the time. It is on Scridb, and I just didn't get to anything other than Way of Kings that week. I have now decided I will get to it closer to the release of the second book in June 2021. I would love to get back to binging whole series like I used to.


At this point, I was not reading much. I knew I wouldn't do well on this readathon, but I love doing the seasonathon every season! I had 6 books on this TBR, and I didn't read 3. Those odds are pretty good, considering I was slumping at this point.


This was the book for the readathon. They always do a book that everyone reads, and then they have a discussion with the author, or authors in this case. I do really want to get to some of their books in 2021 including this one.


This is one I added because of a prompt for food or drink on the cover. I don't know how I will feel about this book, but I am thinking about trying something else by the author before this one. Especially because it is a series, and I am trying not to start series in 2021.


This is a graphic novel series about John Lewis's life as an activist. He did many other things in his life, but being an activist was a big part of it. I never see anyone reading these, but I wish people would! This is the last book in the series and I might just add it to the pile for December. I can check one more series off for the year. I remember starting this book during the readathon. I was getting my hair done and reading the ebook on my phone. I just didn't finish it.


By the first week of the month, I had already dipped out of both of these readathons. I was still reading Way of Kings until the middle of the month. I was reading a few books in-between, but not much. There were 14 books on this TBR, and I didn't get to 12 of them. I did start 4 of them, however.


This was a group read for the team I was on for Spooktober. I was starting to read a lot of mystery and thriller novels in the second half of this year, and I have yet to try Hawkins books. I did have two different ones on hold at the time, but I just didn't get around to listening to them. Are we noticing a theme yet?


One of the Spooktober prompts was to read a Christie novel, and that is the reason I chose the team I did. However, I just didn't get to it, yet again. I did start a book by her before from the library, but I don't remember what it was. I don't think it was this one.


This one is the sequel to An Ember in the Ashes. I really loved that first book. However, I did pick this one up, and I just wasn't feeling it. So, I am just going to read it another time. I do physically own this book, so I can read it any time.


This was one of my most anticipated of the year. I was so excited for this book to come out. It came out, I got a copy, and started it, but never continued. This book is one of three new releases I actually bought a copy of in 2020, and it is the only one I didn't read yet. I can't wait to actually read it in 2021!


This is another book I do actually own and I did start it. I read about 100 pages of it before I stopped and started something else. I was reading it in-between the commercials of the Lakers games, so I might have just not been giving it enough attention. I will give it another try in 2021, I just don't know when.


After taking half the month to read Way of Kings, I was not going to jump into this one. I will get to this in 2021, because I really did love Way of Kings. However, I think I will plan it out a bit better, hopefully not taking as long to read it. I jumped into Way of Kings as a person who does not read adult fantasy, ever. I have read Game of Thrones, but I honestly think it was MUCH easier because I have seen the whole show. I didn't have to learn much of anything about the characters or the world, as I already was familiar. I clowned myself jumping into a Sanderson book, especially Way of Kings before any others.


I have talked about this book so many times. I have a hard time with it. I have started it. It is written with a lot of transliteration. Welsh is Scottish. I am sure if I was also Scottish this book would be easy to read. I find myself not wanting to pick it up because I have to look up so many words. I keep taking myself out of the story trying to figure out what he is trying to say. This book follows a Detective Sargent named Bruce who wants to be promoted to Detective Inspector. He is extremely unlikable. He is racist and sexist, a drug abuser, and just offensive in every way. I love the movie and that is why I picked this book up. I will get through it one of these days.


I have read The Christmas Carol by Dickens almost 10 times, and have seen most of the adaptations. However, I have yet to read anything else by him. This was another of his books that I just picked because I know the story. I just didn't read it, or any of the other books on the Victober TBR. In 2019, I took a college course on world literature. We went over a lot of different literary eras, and Victorian was not one of them. I feel like I can navigate classics better after taking that course, and I really found what I like in classics during that course.


Invisible Man was the last movie I saw in theatres, back in February. The one thing I miss the most is going to the movie theatre. I know the book and movie are completely different, and one of these days I will know the difference. This book is super short, and I should have just listened to it.


I was going to pick this up because of a book club called Passed It Classics. It started in September. They were reading one Bronte sister at a time from September to November. I will try to jump back on this book club in 2021. However, I did read the book for September, which was Wuthering Heights. I have read it before, and I don't like it. I just didn't want to subject myself to another Bronte, that I probably won't like either. I can confidently say I probably won't read this one in 2021, or any more books by any Bronte sisters.


I really love Wilde's books and I was so excited to add him to this TBR. In 2021, I want to buy a big bind up of all his stories. I do own Picture of Dorian Gray, which is one of the book Passed It Classics is reading in 2021, and Importance of Being Earnest. I have also read Canterville Ghost and An Ideal Husband. I want to get to get that bind up and read all of the rest of his works.


This was one that I added at the very end, knowing I wouldn't get to it. However, I still wanted to. I will be reading this on in January for sure. They are all on Libby and Scribd, so I will get them one way or another.


Out of the 16 books on this TBR, I didn't get to 10 of them. However, I feel like I did have a really good reading month in November. I read 10 books, so it wasn't too bad. A lot of these were really short, so I could have smashed through them at any time.


As of writing this, I have not read this book yet. However, I purposefully brought this book over to December. I needed a book for a prompt of a readathon I am doing for a book that was gifted to me, and this is the only book I own that was gifted to me that I haven't read. I will get to it in December, if I haven't already.


This is another short one that I just didn't get to. I think it is on Hoopla, and I just need to add it to another TBR. I really overdid it with this TBR for Believathon.


Like the previous one, it is a short read that I didn't get to. I did have the audiobook on Libby at the beginning of the month.


I really tried to focus on the books I did actually own during this readathon. However, I didn't get to this one. I read 2 of Kinney's other books in the main Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, but not this one. I will get to it one of these days.


I did start this one in November, I just wasn't feeling it. It is the November and December book club book for the Whimsy Book Club. I might try it again in December, but I am not sure.


I think this one was another one that I heard about because of Middle Grade Monthly. It wasn't the book for November. However, I added it to the TBR, and didn't read it.


I actually own this one. I added in the 3rd and 4th book in this series. It is called The Mr. Lemoncello series. I did get to the 3rd book, just not the 4th.


I went to listen to this book, and read the synopsis. I don't think I will like it based on the description. So, I want to read something else before this one by him.


This is another one that I was really excited for, and just didn't get to once I got the audiobook. I waited a really long time for it, and I just need to put it on hold again. Don't take my word on it, but I think this is about a group of people who kill a deer, and the deer comes back for revenge.


I added 3 books to this TBR. I finished 1, DNF'd another, and started the last one. So, it went better than I thought it would!


I started this book during Tome Topple, and I have started it before then. IDK what it is, but I am just struggling to actually start this book. I am thinking I might get an audiobook and listen to a few chapters that way. I know I will love it, once I actually get a good chunk of the book done.


Business Inquiries: aw.lavender.giraffe@gmail.com

My soap, bath bomb, and wax melt store: https://www.facebook.com/The-Lavender-Giraffe-106703317964458


Important Links and Petitions:


Other People Who Have Done Something Similar:

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page